Trusted Legal Counsel In Family Law And Criminal Defense Matters Since 1984
Charged With A Repeat DUI/DWI?
Missouri has some of the toughest penalties for DUI/DWI convictions. This is especially true for repeat DUI offenders. Legislation was enacted in 2010 to strengthen these penalties and against repeat DUI offenders. If you have already been charged or been convicted with a DUI/DWI and are now facing another charge, it is very important that you seek the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
Over 35 Years of Experience Defending Clients
At Howard L. Lotven, A Professional Corporation, our attorney has been helping clients facing all types of criminal charges since 1985. With extensive knowledge of the Missouri court system, he is seasoned when it comes to defending clients against DUI/DWIs, repeat DUI offenses and multiple offenses. There is a lot at stake when you are facing a DUI charge for the second, third or multiple times. Your license could be suspended again or even revoked; there are mandatory minimum sentences for some cases, and fines can be very hefty.
With so much at stake, do not seek counsel from just any attorney in the Kansas City area. Make sure your attorney has extensive skills and a track record that matters. For more information about our repeat DUI/DWI services, call toll free at 816-399-5639
Serious Potential Consequences for Repeat Offenders
Since new DUI/DWI laws have gone into effect under House Bill 1695, the database for DUI/DWI offenders has become more centralized. That means it is easier for law enforcement to know whether you have been charged, arrested or convicted of a DUI before. The penalties are very strict. For example, if you are a second-time offender (within five years), you could be facing up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine. In addition, this could be charged as a Class A misdemeanor. On top of this, a second offense within five years means your license could be suspended for an entire year.
There are even more severe consequences for felony DUIs/DWIs. This can occur in the repeat DUI context when it is the third conviction. This means up to a Class D felony conviction as well as four years in prison and a $5,000 fine. It doesn’t end there. If convicted of a felony DUI/DWI in Missouri, your license is automatically revoked for 10 years. And even after 10 years, your license will not necessarily be reinstated.
Schedule Your Free Consultation Immediately
If this is your second DUI/DWI charge, it is absolutely imperative for your future that you do not get a third conviction. Talk to Howard L. Lotven today by scheduling your free consultation. You can contact us online to make this appointment.